Big Five

  • Leopard on Ol Pejeta
  • white rhinos on Ol Pejeta

In Kenya, the Ol Pejeta Conservancy is the closest place from Nairobi to see the Big Five.

What are the Big Five?

The term Big Five was originally used by big-game hunters and refers to the five large mammals that were sought in Africa. The members of the big five were chosen not so much for their size but more because they were notoriously difficult to hunt (which is why the leopard is on the list and the enormous hippopotamus is not). The term has remained and is still used in African safaris.

The Big Five consists of:

  • the lion
  • the African elephant
  • the African Buffalo
  • the leopard
  • and the rhinoceros (either the black rhinoceros or the white rhinoceros)
  • lion on Ol Pejeta
  • buffalo on Ol Pejeta Conservancy
  • elephants on Ol Pejeta Conservancy
Photo credits: Teeku Patel /